Books for #2’s DC1

After this post, I searched through my library history and my memory to see if I could come up with anything appropriate for #2’s kid, who I know a little bit…

Has zie read Tom’s Midnight Garden? I think it’s YA but it’s older, from maybe like 20 years ago.  (Answer:  Yes.)

We decided that Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho is too grown-up for hir so far.  Ze’s not really into romance (yet?) and that lets out a lot of books like Jane Eyre.  Ze’s also not that into animals; didn’t like the Redwall books, probably won’t like the James Herriot books (but I do!).

I wonder if zie’s old enough for Nine Princes in Amber (The Chronicles of Amber Book 1)?

The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley is a perennial recommendation, which ze has already read.  I remember liking Interstellar Pig, so ze’ll probably try that.  Ze read and liked Hoot by Carl Hiassen.  Sherlock Holmes stories are classics.

I suggested the series that starts with Peter and the Starcatchers, but #2 vetoed it because she hates Peter Pan.  However, #2 wonders if maybe ze’s old enough for The Three Musketeers.

I recommend the Amulet series of graphic novels (the first one is The Stonekeeper), but fair warning:  the dad dies immediately.  I think I’m on book #5 right now.

The Abhorsen series by Garth Nix is on #2’s to-read pile, but she might move it to DC1’s pile instead.  I like those.

To both #2 and DC1 I recommend The Mountain of Kept Memory by Rachel Neumeier, which is fantasy adventure with no romance.  I recently enjoyed it a lot.

More suggestions from me…

You could try out The Wizard of London by Mercedes Lackey (which is not the weird kind of Lackey you don’t like).  Too young for Flavia de Luce?  If ze liked Harry Potter, you can try Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.  I don’t remember enough about Huntress by Malinda Lo. You could try The Ruby in the Smoke: A Sally Lockhart Mystery by Phillip Pullman. (Has zie read the His Dark Materials series?)  The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison might be a bit dense for zir, but #2 might like it if you haven’t read it yet.  It’s good; was nominated for many awards.

You could try Saving Kabul Corner by N. H. Senzai.  I don’t know if The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter is too old for zir or not.  But #2 should read it!  The third book in the series is out now.

Come Fall by, I think, A. C. E. Bauer?

The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang?  That seems to exhaust my library history… at least as far as DC1-appropriate books.  Some of the books I read are definitely NOT for kids!

What’s good, Grumpeteers?

16 Responses to “Books for #2’s DC1”

  1. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    Yum—I’m looking forward to reading some of these.

    Tom’s Midnight Garden came out in 1958. Now I’m surprised it was that close to my childhood; I thought it was even older. But I did know (if I thought about it) that the measles vaccine came out so late that my older brothers and I were vaccinated at the same time. It just seems so late to have “going elsewhere because of measles” as a plot device.

  2. the Viking Diva Says:

    My sibs and I loved Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain. Oldies but goodies.

  3. Hypatia Cade Says:

    Fantasy – epic stories – Grace Lin is a relatively new author with several books. Set in china/drawing on chinese fairy tales. Great as read alouds or for a competent reader to read to themselves. Definitely appropriate for young adults.

  4. jane Says:

    I would have appreciated a notation on the ages and or grade level reading achievement of the children books were being recommended for. Because it was a GREAT list but I am uncertain if the ‘prospective readers’ are 15 or 12 or 9. Thank you.

  5. Solitary Diner Says:

    Ender’s Game? Classic Madeleine L’Engle (Wrinkle in Time)?

    My nieces adore Chris Colfer’s Land of Stories books, and neither of them really enjoy reading all that much. The also like the Spy School series.

  6. Steph Says:

    Beyond what’s already been mentioned, the YA novels I thought of first are the Uglies series and the Leviathan series by Scott Westerfeld, and the Circle of Magic series and Protector of the Small series by Tamora Pierce. There’s some mentions of sex in the Tamora Pierce books, but nothing past the level of the Tiffany Aching books until you get to the third Circle of Magic quartet, and even then it’s not graphic.

    For classic Sci Fi, ze may be able to handle Fahrenheit 451, 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Giver, Animal Farm, and War of the Worlds.

  7. pyrope Says:

    Recent YA books: I liked Rae Carson’s Fire & Thorns trilogy and also thought the Gail Carriger finishing school books were a fun read.
    +1 for Ender’s game
    Also a good age for Jules Verne? (I loved Mysterious Island around that age)

  8. ChrisinNY Says:

    How about The Enola Holmes Mysteries by Nancy Springer? It is described as a young adult fiction series (I actually think late children’s but whatev) of detective novels featuring Enola Holmes, the fourteen-year-old sister of an already-famous Sherlock Holmes. I don’t like them all equally but I bought them in hardcover for myself- so I like them a lot. The titles in order: The Case of the Missing Marquess, The Case of the Left-Handed Lady, The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets, The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan, The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline, and The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I really liked that series except for the casual racism against Roma. Not just from the characters, which is to be expected given the time period, but from the author who made them stereotypes. (#1 refused to read it, IIRC, because she refuses to entertain a world in which Sherlock and Mycroft had a little sister.)

  9. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I’m trying to remember what I read around that age, but as a precocious reader who read everything I could get my hands on, this is going to be a bit fuzzy. I read a lot that was probably not truly age appropriate and I seem to recall, in hindsight, Water for Chocolate stood out as probably a not awesome choice, but I didn’t realize it at the time. I read that during piano lessons around age 7 or 8. Neil Gaiman’s the Graveyard Book is good, so is Anansi Boys, and I read a lot of David Weber’s Honor Harrington series early on. I also read the weird Lackey books along with the less weird ones like the Fairy Tales (The Black Swan) and the Elemental Masters series.

    The Giver slightly traumatized me IIRC, probably because of being too empathetic, but I wouldn’t change having read it.

  10. J Liedl Says:

    Erin Bow’s “Plain Kate” and “Sorrow’s Knot” are good MG books. Her husband’s “The Unwritten Girl” was & remains Austistic Youngest’s most beloved novel and launches a lovely MG series. You might try E.K. Johnston’s “The Story of Owen” which dances over the line between MG/YA, particularly in the sequel which deals with some pretty dark elements quite thoughtfully.

    For more directly MG reading that will surely delight? R.J. Anderson has so many books that might appeal but I’ll point out the most recent series, “Uncommon Magic” which opens perfectly with “A Pocket Full of Murder”.

  11. JaneB Says:

    Susan Cooper’s Dark Is Rising series were some of my faves at that sort of age, no romance! Also I hope you’ve got ze started on Diana Wynne Jones? And Ursula le Guin, via Earthsea? I read EVERYTHING I could get my hands on at that age too…

  12. Donna Freedman Says:

    “Woofies,” by J. Sherrod. It’s about 13-year-old Albertina Alvarez, a serious track runner in California who one day morphs into an actual four-legged wolf (not a werewolf), a curse she inherited from her mother’s side of the family.

    Fact is, she’s not sure it’s a curse. Although she’s not happy about being forced to move to Alaska, she learns to love her transformations — so much so that when the possibility of a “cure” is floated, she isn’t sure she wants it.

    It’s a good read for anyone who’s ever felt at odds with the world yet believes that conformity would obliterate identity.

    Read about it here, if you’re so inclined:
    http://donnafreedman.com/a-book-about-werefolk-in-alaska/

    (Full disclosure: The author is a friend of mine.)


Leave a Reply

