Sure are a lot of late link loves these days…

Keep fighting, everybody.  We can’t become complacent!  Share any activism thoughts in the comments.

Sessions needs to resign.  Al Franken for president.

Scott Pruitt lied under oath about using private email for state business.

Media’s response to the state of the union was ridiculous.  Apparently they have amnesia.  So ridiculous.  Seriously, just the previous day he suggested that Jews were calling in threats to JCC daycare centers and destroying their own centers as a false flag operation.

And the guy tapped to take Sessions seat is being bribed to stop investigating.  Because… the right wing is ultra-corrupt at every level, I guess.

Because of course he did

Trump’s ties to Russia in list form.  It is a long list.  So many people “going rogue

The female of the species is sometimes a male (or something else)…

Mike Pence used an AOL email account for state business and it got hacked.  Some of the emails contained information too sensitive to be released to the public.

Married to a citizen, father of citizens, deported without a hearing

Rob Portman is preventing democrats from attending his events

Two minute activism from AAUW

Stop salary histories. Pay equity.

The history of New Philadelphia, Illinois.

More on this in a future post…

Breakfast club social media

I think Megan is going to scoop me on that one.

Really cool jstor feature

Keeping up with the kattarshians

 

14 Responses to “Sure are a lot of late link loves these days…”

  1. nicoleandmaggie Says:

  2. Steph Says:

    I really appreciate that you guys keep posting about activism and encouraging us to keep fighting. I’ve been fighting my own anxiety over phone calls plus the sheer volume of shit that’s coming down from this administration, and basically feeling like if I can’t help with everything then why do anything. So my Lent discipline this year is to call one of my reps every day, and write emails to them on Saturdays (Sundays I get a break). I’m hoping that will force me through the awkwardness of the phone calls at least, and the goal would be to carry on calling after Easter, but that and donations are where I am on my activism right now.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      That is a great Lent thing! Very much in the right spirit too–doing something that is hard for a good cause.

      The way I figure it, we don’t know what is going to work, so we might as well keep trying things. No one of us can do everything but we can all do some. Together… we can.

      Thanks for sharing!

    • Debbie M Says:

      Thank-you Steph. Doing something is so much better than doing nothing. Remember, you don’t have to do this alone!

  3. Debbie M Says:

    Thanks for the two-minute activism link. I have signed up.

    And in preparation for the Ides of Trump (everyone send a non-violent message on a postcard about what you think about how he’s doing as President on March 15), I went to our local craft re-sale shop and picked up a bunch of post cards and will be bringing them to craft night next Friday. I also gave one to my boyfriend, who can’t stand even reading about politics, and he agreed to write something, too.

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    One problem with a minimalist habit is that I don’t think I actually own any red.
    What to do if you can’t take Wednesday off from work:
    https://www.bustle.com/p/how-to-spend-the-day-without-a-woman-strike-if-you-cant-take-the-day-off-41250

    • Debbie M Says:

      Ha, look around, though! Maybe you have socks, jewelry, a scarf, a hair thingy, a pin, a chain or cord for holding your glasses, a bandana. Or something with a little red in it even though it’s not mainly red–little flowers, trim, hearts? Good luck! And thanks for the link!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        No on all of those. Too minimalist! Only have black work socks and white exercise socks (from high school!), no jewelry (just my wedding ring), no scarves, no hair thingies other than plain black elastic, no pins,no chains, no chords, no bandanas (of any color). I have underpants with little red roses and that is it. I will look in DH and the kids wardrobes next.

      • Debbie M Says:

        Okay, your underpants made me laugh!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        … they were a present…

    • Debbie M Says:

      Oh, oh, or maybe you can borrow something!


Leave a Reply

