What are we reading?

Most of Ruth Ann Nordin’s stuff is pretty bad– heroes trapping women into marriages by kissing them against their will in public.  Not cool (also not believable–this regency world has different rules than most).  Oddly most of her heroes are otherwise sweet usually virgins.  But taking away a woman’s agency is still awful.  One exception that was readable (this hero accidentally traps both himself and the heroine into marriage) but not buyable was a most unsuitable earl.

Carole Mortimer is really into spanking.  All her heroines seem to be naughty naughty girls.  Many of her books seem to start out with plot, then just kind of forget to have any substance after the spanking.  I am embarrassed to admit that I read 5 of them in one day– more novellas than novels and not very good at that.  Kind of like eating 5 regular somewhat stale Krispy Kreme in one sitting.

I read the highest rated Christi Caldwell, To redeem a rake, so that you don’t have to.  Amazon has been pushing them on me for years and no library seems to carry them.  It was fine.  Meh and derivative with lengthy repetitive parts that dragged.  A library read if you were bored and if libraries carried it, which they don’t.  I’m trying to decide whether or not to delete it from my kindle.  It doesn’t “spark joy” but I’m sure I will have forgotten it entirely by the time I am desperate for reading material on a delayed flight.  Still, wouldn’t rereading Candice Hearn for the 20th time be a better use of my time?

The Secret Casebook of Simon Feximal by KJ Charles definitely sparks joy.  Unputdownable even though it is episodic.  Wonderful.

the marriage gamble is rather sweet.  Marina Oliver’s books that I’ve seen are a bit dated and a little slow, but I do not regret reading them.

I enjoyed Rules for Reforming a Rake by Meara Platt (not to be confused with a similarly titled more excellent book by Sarah MacLean).  If you’re a stickler for historical accuracy, this one is not for you.  Suspension of disbelief FTW!  All the books in the series are pretty enjoyable– not perfect books, but the family of young women and their suitors are fun to get to know.  I think I may buy the set.

Couldn’t finish any of the Ella Quinn I tried.

I did enjoy The Mysterious Marquess by Eileen Ramsay, though not enough to buy.

I liked the latest Lenora Bell, Blame it on the Duke, though not as much as I liked the second in that series, despite the bluestocking/rake pairing which is one of my favorite tropes.  It was a bit thinner than her earlier two works.  I don’t regret buying it and I will no doubt read it again.  Again, Lenora Bell is most fun if you don’t really care about historical accuracy.

What have you all been reading?  Any great summer reads to recommend?  Also:  What am I going to do when I run out of the alphabet in my regency ebook sweep?

11 Responses to “What are we reading?”

  1. Debbie M Says:

    Besides “Akata Witch,” I’ve read a few other fiction works I’ve enjoyed lately.

    One is Charles Portis’ “True Grit” (1968). Didn’t know it was a book. Don’t quite remember the movies well enough to tell you how they compared, but it was well written. I liked that no one was perfect. Even our heroine, who was great at negotiating and writing, was terrible at other things. Favorite quote:
    Lucky Ned: “Most girls like play pretties, but you like guns, don’t you?”
    Mattie: “I don’t care a thing in the world about guns. If I did I would have one that worked.”

    Another was Steve Hockensmith’s “Holmes on the Range” (2006). This takes place in the wild west in a world in which Sherlock Holmes existed. One of the main characters is inspired by Holmes. The book is a little sillier than the Louis L’Amour westerns I’m used to, but fun. And the detective does several stunningly brilliant things, which is fun.

    I also read a few of Alexie Sherman’s books. My favorite was the kid’s book “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” about a boy who decides to go to school outside the reservation. I also really loved parts of “Saint Junior,” my favorite short story in “The Toughest Indian in the World.” This is about a couple. Here’s a good quote: “Across the room, a twelve-inch black-and-white television was balanced on top of a twenty-seven-inch color television. The small television had a great picture but no sound, while the large one had great sound and terrible reception. Roman called his televisions the Lone Ranger and Tonto, though he never told anybody which television was which.”

  2. Linda Says:

    I have been devouring The Chronicles of St. Mary’s series and associated novellas. I’m on the very last book and have only one novella to read after this. *sob* They’re so fun.

    I also really enjoyed the first book in Mishell Baker’s Arcadia Project series, Borderline. There’s a second book out now called Phantom Pains. I’ve had it on Hold at the library for a bit and am getting very close to getting it. :-)

  3. Leah Says:

    Just finished The Handmaiden’s Tale. Quite sobering and disturbing. I somehow seem to pick heavy books post-childbirth (yes, had my baby last week! an adorable little boy). After our first, I read two different books that involved parents losing/having to give up kids in traumatic ways. So now I’m reading Ramit Sethi’s “I will teach you to be Rich,” tho I’m going fast because he’s covering a lot of things I already know. Getting a few little nuggets, so that’s nice.

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Call/Fax your congress rep about the ACHA today. They’re cramming through a repeal of the ACA today that removes the pre existing exclusion restriction which is necessary economically for the ACA to work. Also, most of us have pre existing conditions (I have PCOS, infertility, and was treated for anxiety in grad school, for example). High risk pools didn’t work in the past. And the bill hasn’t been graded by the CBO. They’re cramming this through because they care about politics and do not care about people.

    http://www.house.gov/representatives/

    If you can’t get through, Google the rep’s name and call a regional office.

    Like jimmy kimmel says, it shouldn’t matter how rich the parents are for whether a baby lives or dies.

  5. chacha1 Says:

    Notable for unintentional parallelism: The Bookshop on the Corner, by Jenny Colgan; and Parnassus on Wheels, by Christopher Morley. Liked them both very much and am wishing I had an alternate life in which I could be an itinerant bookseller.

    Also started the first book in “The Expanse” but closed it very quickly due to incapacity to deal with horror/death/dystopia/melodrama right now.

    Just ordered an Amanda Quick because mentally, twinkies is what I want to eat, and it was on sale. :-)

  6. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Action Item:
    Donate to Swingleft to send a message to Republicans in Swing Districts who voted for destroying health insurance for Americans. (I just donated $350– $10 for each Democrat running against these monsters who could listen to Jimmy Kimmel’s monologue and still vote to get rid of the pre-existing condition exclusion.)

    https://secure.actblue.com/contribute/page/ahca-reps

  7. Jenny F. Scientist Says:

    I just read the first one in Tanya Huff’s Quarters series– the first was free on Amazon this week. Good enough but not as good as her later stuff. Then put the Enchantment Emporium series on hold for re-read. I liked the first two a lot but the third was less compelling.


Leave a Reply

