RBOC

  • PSA:  If you need to save space on your grant proposal, do not, I repeat, DO NOT mess around with the spacing between letters to buy yourself more space.  Cut things, play with your margins, get rid of adjectives, whatever, but playing with the spaces between letters just makes life difficult for your reviewers.  Leave Kerning Alone!
  • We hadn’t been shopping in the city for something like 3 months.  When we finally went, we spent almost $300 at TJ’s (DH says this is a new record) and $175 at WF.  And also we bought loose tea at the tea shop and ice cream at the ice cream place and poke (yay!) at one of the new poke bars and a lasagna at the fresh noodle place and… Our freezer is now full and our pantry is over-stocked.  Since we also have the CSA (which also provides eggs and a pound of ground beef each week) going right now I told DH we weren’t allowed to go grocery shopping except to get milk for a few weeks.
  • I really like the teapot DH got me for my birthday.
  • It’s a little depressing looking at stats for random posts and seeing that some quite excellent posts haven’t had a single view in aeons.  Do they get lonely?  Do they feel unloved?  Back when we had less of an archive, occasionally we’d have people read all the posts, but I think there’s too much now.  Which is a shame because there’s some really good stuff in there.
  • I found out that the Davis, California Whole Foods recently went out of business.  If a hippie university town near SF can’t support a WF, what hope does our nowhere have of getting one?
  • It’s creepy seeing that a college ex-boyfriend has checked out your LinkedIn profile.  (He’s a product manager at Google in case you’re wondering, so I can’t imagine that he’s got any professional reason to look.  Plus apparently we only have one connection so it’s unlikely he accidentally landed on my page.)  I probably wouldn’t have minded if this guy hadn’t turned out to be a jerk, but this is not a guy I think fondly of if I think of him at all.  (Whereas I was super happy for my sweet first boyfriend when I heard through the grapevine that he’d gotten married and later he’d had kids.  I think I’m happy leaving him with that Happily Ever After.)
  • I suspect that at this point in the season I am about 70% zucchini bread by weight.
Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 29 Comments »

29 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. Steph Says:

    re: your ex – Even one connection + going to the same college might have gotten him the “do you know X?” email, I get those for some random folks sometimes.

    Also the idea of someone messing with character spacing on a proposal makes me want to scream. (I use Miser Mom’s trick from when I took a writing class with her – remove “to be” verbs and use active verbs instead. Though my field allows first-person in everything which makes that easier)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Even so, there’s no reason to click! (I didn’t click on him yet know all the things mentioned here from their “this person looked at your profile” promo.)

  2. The frugal ecologist Says:

    Davis had an amazing food co-op for years and years prior plus the establish farmers market’s, and I think the town was already structured towards that and didn’t really need a Whole Foods. Might be more help for you guys to get a Trader Joe’s – they put one in Gainesville Florida when we lived there – population about 140,000.

    And you’re much better than me, I totally would’ve clicked on the ex-boyfriend’s profile without even thinking about it. I think linked in is creepy in that you can tell who’s been looking at your profile. I would prefer not to know either way

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I will take either!

    • teresa Says:

      Besides the co-op and farmer’s marker Davis also has a local grocery chain (Nugget) that existed before the Davis Whole Foods and is very similar- lots of organic products and produce, bulk bins, hot bar, butcher and fish counters, etc- pretty much everything except the 365 brand, at similar or lower prices to WF (at least when I lived there 10 years ago), plus major brands (eg diet coke) so you don’t have to make a separate stop for unhealthy foods. So WF was probably pretty superfluous there.

    • Cloud Says:

      I was going to speculate that the Davis Whole Foods went under due to better local competition. Whole Foods hasn’t expanded that aggressively here, and I think that is because we have several other options that do something similar but predate Whole Foods and already have a loyal following. Also, Sprouts has a stronger presence here, I think because they bought/merged with one of the established local places.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        One of the problems we have here is that there are two grocery chains and one of them is aggressively trying to make itself a monopoly. (Ex. buying up large buildings that housed a grocery store that went out of business and refusing to rent them out.)

      • becca Says:

        I’m so glad people who probably know Davis better than I do commented. I googled, and saw they had a TJs and a food co-op. Really, I usually feel like WFs is what a town that doesn’t have a critical mass of *legit* hippies has when they can’t get their food co-op game on. Except the Streeterville WFs, which is like hot foods/lunch/wine/coffee shop Mecca (i.e. competing for the restaurant business moreso than the grocery business). i.e. what yuppies think hippies eat ;-)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We have a coop in town, but it has the same stuff one of our major grocery store chains has (not the one that’s trying to have a monopoly) in their frufru section but at 2x the price and covered in dust or mold. I have to think it’s actually a front for something.

        So we could totally use a WFs!

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Concerned about Russia, Trump, Comey, etc.? Here’s 5calls this morning: https://5calls.org/issue/recMDGpZtaeKHvUlt

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Btw, here’s what you get if you click on contact us for the FBI: https://www.fbi.gov/contact-us/contact_us

  5. xykademiqz Says:

    I think you could introduce something like “Blast from the Past” segment on the blog, on one of the days you don’t post new stuff — I suggest Saturday, which is a really slow day in the blogosphere, and I am dying to read something new — where you repost “the best of.”

    Ex boyfriends are a creepy concept. I don’t have a Linked In profile, so I didn’t know you could tell who looked at your profile — I suppose okay for business associates, but otherwise ughughugh. Ugh. The internet only ever lowers my affection for the humankind in general.

  6. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    Could you just add a few of your own old links to the Saturday link love? I’ve done that on occasion. Also, selfishly, that makes a lot of sense to me as someone who would love to read posts that I might have missed over the years but don’t have time to go looking for them.

  7. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    As always, here’s Wandsci with some excellent suggestions about what you can do activism-wise today: https://twitter.com/wandsci/status/862340919994884096

  8. independentclause Says:

    PSA: Do not mess with your margins or font size. Cut adjectives, detail, content, anything, but don’t resort to undergraduate tricks.

  9. Debbie M Says:

    Oh, cheating methods of saving space on grant proposals, especially the ones where you had to fit your abstract into a little box (does anyone require that anymore?), really used to steam me. They don’t make you put it into a little box so you can cram in three pages worth by using tiny fonts!

    As a typist, I finally started giving my faculty a suggested edited version (it took me a while to get the cojones to do that), and usually they would go for it. I always requested that they make sure that not only is it including the most important stuff, but also make sure it’s still true since I am not a biologist and may have mangled it. Usually it was okay and they would just make minor additional edits (or none).

  10. Debbie M Says:

    If you take the last part off your FBI contact, you get a page that looks useful:

  11. Cloud Says:

    My high school boyfriend sent me a friend request on Facebook and I am ignoring it. I have no hard feelings towards him, I wish him well… but no, I don’t want to see his Facebook posts. No no no no no.

  12. chacha1 Says:

    mmmm zucchini bread …

    I was recently in a meeting with people from outside the firm and one of them asked to connect on LinkedIn. We didn’t even SPEAK in this meeting. He was loud and wore a ridiculous ring and I’m sure he asked to connect to everybody. I’m like dude, I don’t even know you.


Leave a Reply

