In which #1 and #2 take the Time Magazine Harry Potter Quiz and find out a horrifying truth about #2

#1:  Hey, take this quiz.
I am:
65.5% ravenclaw
32.6% hufflepuff
and the remainder is gryffindor.

#2: hm.

#1: I am a smart coward!

#2: hm.

#1: I’m surprised there’s no slytherin, after all, I–

#2: I’m uh… 70% syltherin

#1: Uh
Um.

#2: Indeed

#1: backs away slowly

#2: doot de dooo

#1: I have work ethic and friendliness…

#2: I do NOT have friendliness

#1: I don’t think you’re *normally* slytherin though. Maybe it’s the extra stress you’ve been under?

#2: Mayyyyyyyybeeeeeee

#1: Ulp

#2: [makes mustache twirling motion]

#1: I laugh nervously at your villainy

#2: [steeples fingers]

#1: All this time I had no idea

#2: [maniacal laugh]

 

/fin

31 Responses to “In which #1 and #2 take the Time Magazine Harry Potter Quiz and find out a horrifying truth about #2”

  1. Zenmoo Says:

    77% Ravenclaw & 23% Hufflepuff. Yep, smart scaredy-cat, that’s me. I realised the other day that I am quite hard to offend unless I feel my intelligence /ability to understand complex problems / subject matter expertise is being questioned or ignored. Then I get really, really cranky.

  2. CG Says:

    That is quite a Slytherin percentage, #2! For me, 49.4% Hufflepuff, 46.5% Ravenclaw, and 4.1% Gryffindor. No Slytherin! Very friendly and conscientious but not all that brave.

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    BTW, #1’s DH is:
    59% Ravenclaw.
    26% Gryffindor
    14.9% Hufflepuff
    .1% Slytherin

    And DC1 is:
    62.2% ravenclaw,
    37.2 hufflepuff,
    the rest Gryffindor

    And my sister is:
    72% Ravenclaw(!)
    20% hufflepuff
    7% Gryffindor
    .1% slytherin

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    https://action.aclu.org/secure/comment-net-neutrality?redirect=net-neutralityTW&ms=TW_170712_privacyandtechnology_netneutrality

  5. chacha1 Says:

    54% Ravenclaw
    26.5% Gryffindor
    19.4% Hufflepuff
    .1% Slytherin

    “high work ethic and friendliness” may slightly over-state my friendliness. I don’t mess around with people for the hell of it, but I also don’t often go out of my way to be Ms. Prop You Up.

    Almost tempted to go back and game the quiz to see if I get myself into Slytherin instead of Ravenclaw. :-) Indulging my worst impulses would certainly get me there, so I guess it’s good that in practice I stifle those urges.

    My Gryffindor quotient may be slightly over-weighted. It’s fair to say I am intellectually and morally strong, but I am very risk-averse and also conflict-avoidant. I think a true Gryffindor requires a measure of recklessness in the face of danger, and “damn the consequences full speed ahead!” which I do not possess.

  6. Solitary Diner Says:

    I’m almost the same as #1: 63.5% Ravenclaw and 36.2% Hufflepuff. No Slitherin!

  7. crazy grad mama Says:

    I am:
    84.5% Ravenclaw
    10.3% Hufflepuff
    4.3% Slytherin
    1% Gryffindor

    Sounds about right, although I question their level of significant figures.

  8. monsterzero Says:

    68.6% Ravenclaw, 29% Hufflepuff, 2.1% Gryffindor, 0.3% Slytherin.
    But a really good Slytherin might game the quiz to show little or no Slytherin the results.

  9. Leah Says:

    Ravenclaw 47%, Hufflepuff 46%, 7% Gryffindor, and 0% Slytherin. I always suspected I’m too nice as a teacher . . .

    I think my Ravenclaw should be a little higher and Hufflepuff a little lower but is otherwise pretty accurate. Maybe a tiny bit of Slytherin — I was surprised to see 0%, since I’m not nice every single second.

  10. Debbie M Says:

    #2, way to go with it! Thanks for the laugh!

  11. gasstationwithoutpumps Says:

    85.8% Ravenclaw
    9% Hufflepuff
    2.6% Gryffindor
    2.6% Slytherin

    That is reasonably consistent with my self image—I suspect that most academics will come up as Ravenclaw (or Hufflepuff in some cases), but it is hard to make heroic tales without stupidly brave people (Gryffindor) and evil villains (Slytherin)—so Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff get short shrift in the books. Of course, I agree with monsterzero that a Slytherin is likely to lie on the quiz and appear to be anything at all.

  12. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    Where did you take the actual quiz? All I can get is the news story (the link in the story just opens the same page in a new tab). I can’t even get into Hogwarts to be sorted!

    . . . oh. Maybe that IS my result. :-(

    • CG Says:

      Awww….

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I had that problem at first on my phone. I had to open it on a different device. Once you open it elsewhere you can see a picture of the sorting hat and clicking on that will take you to the quiz.

      • Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

        Interesting. It didn’t work on my laptop but did on my tablet.
        49.6% Ravenclaw, 42.7% Slytherin (I blame years of academic politics, and maybe manipulating older brothers before that), 7% Hufflepuff, and 0.7% Gryffindor. I knew I was a smart coward, but apparently I’m sneakier than I suspected. It’s not as if I’m *good* at academic politics. Well. #2 and I can play the villains when we all get together to play HP D&D, I guess.

  13. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    Well that’s disturbing. In regular sorting hat quizzes I’m Hufflepuff but this quiz says:
    Slytherin, 35.4%
    Ravenclaw, 34.5%
    Gryffindor, 22.5%
    Hufflepuff, 7.6%

    “Your personality shows a high degree of work ethic and shrewdness, which are valued among members of Slytherin House.”

    Yay? I’m extremely loyal to my friends but I don’t like people in general much. At all. They have to earn my respect or entry into any of my circles.

    I just realized that I answered that whole quiz in the context of work, though. I’ve worked with people where the absolute only way to get anything done was to flatter them endlessly or they’d obstruct your every need.


Leave a Reply

