Ask the grumpies: What did you miss while at boarding school?

Leah asks:

What did you miss while at boarding school?

#1:  Decent food.  Our food was LITERALLY prison-grade.  Literally.  After they got rid of Total cereal, I ended up on a binge and starve diet (eating mainly on the weekends at home) that I am sure was not good for my long-term health.  I was probably the only college freshman who didn’t complain about the cafeteria food at college because it was so much better.

#2:  The food was @#$@#%, I guess.  I missed having a room to myself.  OTOH, I got a semi-private bath out of the deal, which kind of makes up for it.

#1:  Oh, yes, I also missed having my own room and being able to decide for myself that I wanted to go to bed at 9:30pm (so as to wake up for my 7am class) and not have to wait for a roommate who stayed up until midnight to stop making noise.  Ugh.  I wrote about my need for sleep as why I needed a single pretty extensively in my college acceptance materials.  I must have convinced them.

4 Responses to “Ask the grumpies: What did you miss while at boarding school?”

  1. omdg Says:

    I missed being able to drive my friends around. I was a day student at a local boarding school, and though I was permitted to drive myself to school, I was not allowed to drive friends around.

  2. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    Wait, did many people go to boarding school for high school? I feel like this was a piece of information I completely missed out on.

  3. dawnwairimu Says:

    I actually went to boarding school for most of my childhood and adolescent years (grade 3-12). I just wrote a post about my experience in boarding school so that part jumped out at me :D loved your post!


Leave a Reply

