Ask the grumpies: Favorite constellation?

Leah asks:

What is your favorite constellation?

#1:  Orion because it’s the only one I can find consistently!

#2:  Doesn’t have one.  No wait, I agree with #1.  Orion is also the only one I can find consistently.

11 Responses to “Ask the grumpies: Favorite constellation?”

  1. Leah Says:

    Cygnus (the northern cross) and Lyra are mine. I used to feel similarly and loved only Orion until I took an astronomy class. That was one of my favorite classes in my teacher licensure program. I had to take lots of science because my state requires all science teachers to be proficient in all fields even though I’m only licensed to teach biology. I now teach earth science as well!

  2. monsterzero Says:

    I tell people who ask that Orion is my star sign.

  3. bogart Says:

    I too like Orion, but the big dipper (when I can find it) shows me the north star, and I appreciate that, so I think I’d have to name it my favorite.

  4. grk Says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL YOUR POSTS AND WRITING!!!!!!!!! You two make a difference.

  5. Ally Says:

    Orion used to be my favorite for the same reason, but when I moved where I am currently, suddenly I can’t find Orion either. I just suck at seeing constellations.

  6. accm Says:

    I’m a professional astronomer. Most of us have no clue about constellations. :-) And yet, whenever we do a press release, the first thing people ask is, “What constellation is that in?”

  7. chacha1 Says:

    I live in Los Angeles. The only Constellation I can see on a regular basis is a street in Century City. :/

  8. crazy mama, PhD Says:

    Cassiopeia—it’s the only one that was regularly visible from the well-lit suburban street where I grew up.

  9. Omdg Says:

    Cassiopeia


Leave a Reply

