RBOC

  • Amazing discovery:  TJ’s Happy Trekking mix left in a hot car and then taken inside results in the most amazing fruit/nut chocolate clusters.  A+++ would recommend.
  • I have been really enjoying fancy fruit balsamic vinegar mixed with seltzer.
  • I finally got a letter from George Soros.  He wants me to fight to legalize marijuana which (other than the racial aspects of imprisonment which are a problem and the medical aspects that are already dealt with pretty well) are so far down on my “to protest” list… I can’t even with the “paid protestors” bit the alt-right keeps trotting out.  If Soros were paying we’d be protesting marijuana laws, not the affordable care act or anti-science or laws that harm minorities.
  • Roses are red
     I’m in a training
     Poetry is hard
    Caffeine.
  • I hate when you have to schedule a meeting for a group of people because it is the only way to get one (white, male) guy to do the one tiny piece of work that only he can do, that you sit there waiting for him to do at the meeting, and it actually takes longer to schedule the @#$@3ing meeting than it would take for him to just do the one tiny piece of work that only he can do and then email the results out.
  • Speaking of meetings– I would like to stop getting cryptic emails saying we need to set up an appointment to meet/talk on the phone about an urgent sensitive matter.  THREE this week.  About completely different things!  Stop sending cryptic emails!  Just pick up the damn phone and call or stop by my office.  Or, better, stop having urgent and sensitive matters that need my input!
  • update:  none of them turned out to be that big of a deal in the end, or at least nowhere near where my imagination went!
  • “The usual” interview questions are generally asked for a reason.  Asking bizarre vaguely threatening questions in an interview to catch the interviewee off-guard does not make you a good administrator, it makes you a bad one.  Interviewing is not a gotcha-game, it’s a negotiation between two parties, both of which will be making a decision about fit.  Though I suppose in the world Republicans want, people will be so desperate for low-paid work that they’ll put up with whatever stupid psychological games their boss wants to put them through.
  • huh, look what you made me do IS I’m too sexy (for my shirt too sexy for my shirt)…and she did the right thing and paid to use it.  Cool.
  • I’m still doing my weekly calls but it feels like the bad guys are starting to get ahead, particularly in the realms of fascism.  Nobody showed up to the Indivisible voter information session other than the organizers.  What else can we be doing?  What are you doing?

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 13 Comments »

13 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. grk Says:

    I am still calling and writing. You are not alone. Please hang on. Thank you so much for posting ~~ helps me a lot.

  2. Debbie M Says:

    Your poem made me laugh.

    One thing that’s better is that the president wants to compare IQ tests with an American instead of weapon threats with North Korea. So much better. And other groups are helping Puerto Rico (I’ve heard of two different groups helping them with their electricity). So, I agree that the world is horribly scary, but it’s not just scary. I don’t know what else we can do. I’ve started drastically changing the changeable petitions I sign to make it clear that I am taking time and therefore that my opinion should count (and also that I’m a constituent). I still don’t call much, but need to try to do that more.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It seems like there haven’t been a lot of protests recently, but maybe that will change now that the weather is getting better. For a while there there were too many (science + impeach + etc.) but it’s been a long time since there’s been a big national one in the nearest city. I would so go to an impeach trump march right now. There are so very many reasons to impeach! But I can’t skip work to go to a congressional office. :( So I keep calling while I wait for the big groups to figure stuff out and I’ll keep talking to the smaller groups we participate in. It’s just hard being, you know, employed and stuff.

      Tip: If you call right before 8:30am or after 6pm you can leave a message instead of talking to a person.

    • Contingent Cassandra Says:

      I’m in favor of anything (well, almost anything) that distracts the president from North Korea. But battles with the NFL are preferable to hurricanes (both tend to expose some of his worst tendencies, but battles with the NFL do less harm to fewer people).

      The only upside of his refusal to help Puerto Rico in the same way that he’s willing to help Texas: it looks like the island might actually get a working, more robust renewable-energy electric grid, courtesy of Elon Musk and other entrepreneurs. I’m not sure that’s the ideal solution, but it’s certainly better than anything the president and his own fossil-fuel-obsessed business cronies would dream up.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Except when he tells ESPN to fire someone for saying something mean about him, and then ESPN goes and suspends her. I really hate Fascism. I should not be able to get fired (or suspended) based on my telling my students that current Trump proposal X is neither equitable (what liberals want) nor efficient (what conservatives used to want).

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Yesterday I called about bump stocks. Today I called about CHIP because it’s ridiculous it hasn’t been renewed yet.

    But what I’m really worried about are fascism and natural disaster response/climate change and north korea. I’m not sure where to start on those. The fascism means that it doesn’t matter what I tell congress, the president is just going to write an executive order or send a tweet and bam, that’s the rule of law. So the ACA is going to be destroyed via executive order this week, but who do I call about that? Where do I protest? I want to protest ESPN suspending Jemele Hill because it’s fascism, but I already don’t watch ESPN and I doubt I use the products they advertise.

  4. Cloud Says:

    Since my representatives are already doing what I want, I’ve been channeling more of my energy into supporting the election of better people, even when it is a long shot. I think the political rules are scrambled right now and things are far too unpredictable to know when a race is such a long shot that it isn’t worth investing in. So far, my efforts have mostly been sending money. I’ve sent to Doug Jones in AL and Beto O’Rourke in TX in addition to Jacky Rosen in NV. I’ll be watching the AZ Senate race, too. Kyrsten Sinema is a strong candidate. I’ll probably start sending some money to the most vulnerable Dems up for re-election in the Senate, too.

    I’m debating whether to move from just sending money to phone banking, which is all I can really do from CA. I’m not sure having someone from CA call to support a candidate is a plus in a place like Alabama, though!

    I’ve also been seeking out and giving money to voting rights organizations and organizations that are working to get people registered.

    Other than that, I have decided that my time is best spent reminding Republicans in Congress that we’re watching and we see their recklessness. I try to fax the House Oversight committee weekly. This administration is so unethical that there is always something new to flag! And I think this week I might write Sen. Corker a note thanking him for speaking out about Trump’s dangerous behavior, and reminding him that as a Senator he can do more about this problem than just give interviews and tweet. My rule is that I only write to reps that are not mine, so this will be a lovely handwritten note. My sister gave me some notecards for my birthday for this purpose! I have no idea if it helps at all, but it makes me feel better so I do it.

    In general, I think we all have to figure out how to live with the fact that we can’t prevent a lot of the harm being done. We can fight as hard as we can, and we can try to make it hard for them, but there are some things we can’t stop. The trick is to figure out how to keep fighting in a way that works for us, because it is going to be a long fight.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      You could call Arizona and Colorado!

      I really find it helpful when you tweet out your actions. I think I’ve been wanting to call the house oversight committee more regularly but I don’t know what to stress, so when you tweet I know something to say, and that I’m not the only one contacting about that specific issue.

      • Cloud Says:

        To be honest, most Arizonans I know would resent a Californian calling and telling them how to vote, too. I could maybe get away with it because I grew up there, but for the most part, I think people resent “outsiders” telling them how to vote in their state elections.

        I’m going to try to tweet out my list more regularly. The beginning of October has just been super busy, so I haven’t always been able to sit down and do my actions all together and then tweet them out.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        But you must sound more like an Arizonan than a Californian, right? Or would they see your CA area code?

        Thanks for your tweets and your actions and everything!

  5. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    Thanks for the good reminders, always.


Leave a Reply

