We’re having bad weeks

this was supposed to be a kitten post with adorable kitten pictures of #2’s adorable kittens… but…

work is hard and we’ve both been getting bad (work-related) news… so we’re gonna punt today

Friday we’ll post an ask the grumpies about college savings.

17 Responses to “We’re having bad weeks”

  1. Solitary Diner Says:

    Hang in there. Wishing you both all the best. Bloody work.

  2. crazy mama, PhD Says:

    Too bad for kittens—must be pretty bad. I hope things improve for you both soon.

  3. CG Says:

    Sorry to hear this! Hope all turns out okay. Good news out of NJ and VA this morning to cheer you up a little.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yep. Ed Gillespie lost. Those two Asian school board members in Edison got elected. The trans woman in Virginia defeated the bigot author of their bathroom bill who wouldn’t debate her or refer to her by the appropriate pronoun. A strong message that hate will not win if we keep working hard at it. And thank you to everyone who helped get out the vote in Virginia!

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Made my political calls for today (Today I complained about the tax bill, yesterday I asked them to support bipartisan legislation to include digital advertisements in current political advertising laws, Monday I called about not letting domestic abusers have guns and punishing people who provide guns to domestic abusers and that putting guns in churches is NOT the answer and that the NRA wants us to shoot each other so that they can get more gun sales).

    I have a cuppa half caf using the last of the really good beans I got at a conference. I’m working from home in my pajamas so that nobody can stop by my office to chat.

    I have a LOT to do today (even aside from all the @#@#@ment that I have to do damage control on that I am ignoring today unless people respond to my emails). Let’s see if I can get it done. :/

    • Debbie M Says:

      You go!

      So do you think the political advertising laws actually help? My experience is that in most cases the people paying for the ads make up a group with a useless name like “Texans for Schools” or “Austin Children’s PAC.”

      I did see one from real estate professionals (though I couldn’t quite guess why they would support that Constitutional Amendment). They only tell us things they think will make us want to vote the way they want us to, not (in many cases) the real reasons they want us to vote that way.

  5. jjiraffe Says:

    Sorry about the bad work news. Hang in there. Yay about the good political news. :)

  6. Kingston Says:

    Thank you for the work you do on this blog. I share many of your links in my own social media network. Your commitment to political work is motivating to me. Just wanted you to know that.

    Also, Maine voters chose overwhelmingly to EXPAND Obamacare! I find this quite heartening.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Thank you! That helps! And thank you so much for speaking out too– it all helps. If we all keep pushing and talking and getting people out there, then common decency has a chance.

      Yay Maine!

  7. bogart Says:

    Oof, I’m sorry. But yes (to join the chorus), yay re: election results.

  8. SP Says:

    Sorry you two are having bad weeks. Please enjoy the kittens #2, even if the week is too bad to share the kittens with us!

    And yay for election results! (We did not have local elections in my district but I triple checked this mostly because of your blog reminding everyone to vote.)

  9. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I empathize with your bad weeks (mine is family related) and would send you supplemental kitten pictures but I only have a large dog and smallish toddler who keeps bringing fresh water for said dog and trying to carry all 90 lbs of him to the bowl to force him to drink. Plus, I realized you don’t need the pictures. You have the Actial Kittens. I’m going to bed now.

  10. Contingent Cassandra Says:

    Boo! for bad weeks. Hope things improve.

    And yes, yay, for positive election results. May this be the beginning of a trend. (Given other political news, I also find myself trying to figure out: if money is speech, and you can legally hide money offshore to avoid US taxes, does that basically mean you can hoard speech/potential speech offshore, if you’re wealthy enough? That seems to make an undemocratic situation even more undemocratic. And yes, it makes me want to know, even more, exactly who is paying for all of those ads).

  11. Cloud Says:

    Belated sympathy for the bad day. I hope things get better soon. My politcal actions are going to happen on Friday this week because I have a lingering cold and I was wiped out yesterday and struggling to get anything done. Fingers crossed that tomorrow is better for all of us!


Leave a Reply

