Ask the grumpies: Comfortable professional shoes

omdg asks:

I remember you suggesting Pikolinos years ago (which have been great btw), but wondering whether you have new suggestions for professional shoes? My plantar fasciitis can no longer do most things cute.

The podiatrist said my New Balance were a good choice, but recommended these inserts (amazon affiliate => we might get a tiny amount of money if you buy through this link– don’t do it for us.)  I have been wearing sneakers on my non-teaching days and Pikolinos or Naot on my teaching days.  I have been considering getting some men’s shoes like my husband has — he’s got some Rockport sneakers that look like dress shoes.  (I wonder if these are as comfortable as they look.)

Podiatrist recommendations for dress shoes:  Clarks, SAS, Vionic.

Podiatrist recommendations for sandals:  Chaco, Powerstep, Crocs, Reef, Keen, Teva, Oofas, Vionic

Podiatrist recommendations for running shoes:  Altra, Asics, Brooks, Hoka, New Balance, Saucony

He also recommends vit C, Vit D, Calcium, and protein.

What I would add:  Finn Comfort from Germany make excellent sandals with arch support.

Grumpy Nation:  What dress shoes do you recommend for comfort?

9 Responses to “Ask the grumpies: Comfortable professional shoes”

  1. Maya Says:

    Thanks for these recs! Saving for the (near) future.

    I’ve found Danskos very comfortable as well. And some styles are dressy.

  2. FF Says:

    I recommend Danskos–in addition to the Professional or Professional Narrow clogs, they also have shoes and boots. When I had plantar fasciitis, I mostly wore New Balance walking shoes and occasionally Danksos or Clarks. I tried Hokas at that time since I’d heard they were good for PF, but I found them uncomfortable. I no longer have PF, but I have other foot problems, and I hadn’t been finding New Balance very comfortable for the past few years, so after decades of using them, I switched last year to Brooks, which are a better fit for me at present.

    Other shoes brands that I’ve had some luck with include Munro–they tend to use a mixed last, which is good for my very narrow heels and wider forefeet–and Easy Spirit. I’ve tried SAS but their shoes and my foot shape do not match at all.

    Also, if you haven’t tried it yet, physical therapy was really helpful for my PF. Several years ago, I had it in both feet at the same time and the conventional exercise recommendations did not work for me, but thePT I saw gave me different exercises that gave pretty immediate results (McKenzie method).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      DC1 switched to Brooks a couple years ago, I can’t remember why. But zie likes them enough to get a second pair when the first pair wore out instead of going back to New Balance.

    • EB Says:

      If, on the other hand, SAS does have a good fit for you, I highly recommend them. They are not only comfortable, they are very light, and the last forever. I wear the dress and casual versions, not the athletic shoes; for those, New Balance is much better.

  3. economiss Says:

    I found Alegria this past year, and find the shoes quite comfortable for long days of standing and walking. They’re always displayed near the orthopedic brands.

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Two days left: This is such a great project (a vending machine full of books from diverse perspectives, including several “banned” books for a school in Ohio that doesn’t have a school library), but with only two days left, I don’t know if it’s going to make it.

    https://www.donorschoose.org/project/knowledge-is-power/8186629/

    A donation of any amount will help trip getting this project advertised to potential donors. If you’re on social media, could you advertise?

  5. First Gen American Says:

    I use Clarks mostly because there is an outlet near me. I wish I could wear danksos but I’m in between sizes with that brand. I also think running shows are very arch specific. I have flat feet so some of the often recommended brands just aren’t comfortable. I started buying sneakers with big toe boxes and more of a barefoot style they have been super comfy for my flat feet. My latest pair is Altras and found them at Sierra outlet.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

«