Who do you Link Love?

#2 would sort of like to change the title to “Whom do you link love?” (note: whom!) but won’t.  It reminds me of that Duran Duran song, Come Undone.  (Who do you need / who do you love / when you come undone) (#1 says:  YES.  That is precisely the allusion.)

A delightful little ditty on facebook presented by Isis the scientist.

We were an “almost editor’s pick” in this week’s carnival of personal finance.  By Magical Penny.  Apparently folks like it when we pick on Money Reasons… I wonder if we should do a post to address the one of his this week that devolved into everyone in the comments saying that only kids who had SAHM are going to amount to anything.  (Hint:  They’re not the only ones.)

I couldn’t do this, but I’m totally impressed by $30 painted faux granite countertop at pretty handy girl.

I am intrigued by Chore Wars (and its sister site, World of Chorecraft. heh).  I am a big nerd.

How many of Bardiac’s stick figure literatures do you recognize?

A PSA from ianqui on twitter use.

I was going to link love this post from minting nickels about how to figure out how much your stuff on ebay is worth, but then she just blew me away with this deep, bittersweet, life-affirming post about her late grandfather and how she’s honoring his memory.

This post that I stole from eemusing’s link love from this recording on how to be the woman in a guy’s group is really awesome.  It reminds me of my work environment.  Yes, let us push our boobs against the glass ceiling together!

Weird Al has a book.  Also check out Bob.  From Philnel.

Oh XKCD, again you are so right when you are so very wrong.  You spin me right round baby.

17 Responses to “Who do you Link Love?”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    feeling a bit 80’s are we?

    Wow..i totally missed the SAHM comments..must have been after I already posted my comment. Also missed the grandpa post. I am happy for roundups because despite my efforts, I still do miss good stuff.

  2. Lindy Mint Says:

    Aw, thanks for the link love. Feeling 90s? I can’t wait for that one. :)

  3. bogart Says:

    Great links (She’s got links — she knows how to use them!), but while you’re all Duran Duran, I’m channeling George Thorogood –walked forty-seven miles of barbed wire, got a cobra snake for a necktie … Come on, take a little walk with me baby, and tell me who do you love?

    Hmmm. Looks like I should just back away from the internet.

  4. Revanche Says:

    I miss listening to ’80s music no matter how many times PiC tries to tell me I wasn’t old enough to have appreciated it. It took me two beats to remember this song’s melody from the allusion even though I can *never* remember music without actually hear it.

    We had the oddest conversation the other day about the purpose of music videos and how they are still being made. Does anyone still watch them?

    Kind of wondering if it’s worth clicking through to the Money Reasons post but not sure I can stand the commentary.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Music videos on youtube! I do remember the old days when MTV used to show music videos. Good times.

      Re: the comments in the Money Reasons post… there aren’t that many comments, though I looked this morning and MR made another one of those stupid statements in the comments about how you need a SAHM to teach young kids morals and so on, “in the formative years” otherwise someone else is raising your kids for you. Honestly comments like that make it sound like any woman who works 40 hours a week spends the other 128 hours doing God knows what, but obviously not interacting with her kid. Kids are going to become hardened criminals if they’re not attached to mom 24-7. (Ignoring that time-use surveys find that SAHM and WOHM spend the same amount of time actually interacting with their kids and that number hasn’t changed since researchers started DOING time use surveys decades ago. Though dads’ time with kids goes up when mom works outside the home, meaning kids get more parent interaction on average when mom works(!) Though it could just be that married WOHM marry higher quality husbands than SAHM do.)


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.