She’s got The Links

Ianqui in the village with a warm and cozy post about slow cooker season.  Such a dreary rainy day… imagine a warm hot cocoa, a blanky on the couch with a new-to-you Georgette Heyer and the soft scents of dinner slowly bubbling in the kitchen.

Dr. Crazy doesn’t think students enjoying class means the class is too easy.

An interesting mini-rant on gifted schooling (not just because it links to us!) by femomhist.

These look awesome, but I wonder if they leak.

Tenured Radical with some suggestions on how to say no.  (I say, “Yes, but I will need a course reduction.”  That’s probably why they don’t ask me anymore.)

A fascinating article by David Brin on Class Warfare.  Perhaps some of our historian readers will say it’s not real history, being too popular (or populist) but whatevs.

Girl Scholar depresses us with a town that is decriminalizing domestic violence.

memo to self: try to work this into teaching, somehow, somewhere, sometime, in some class.  What happens when men pose like women?  #2 is reminded of this sexy number from Awful Library Books, particularly the football shot.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance

10 Responses to “She’s got The Links”

  1. Cloud Says:

    Good links! I should go read more of them and get myself out of a pointless argument I got myself into over at Historiann’s blog. I think it may be time for me to stop going there…

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Haha, yes Historiann’s blog is good at capturing one into pointless arguments.

      Update: flipped through it… you’ve got a blog post there in the comments for next week, so not all your time was wasted

      One thing I don’t like about a few blogs on the internet, which includes a subset of humanities and science blogs (but only a small subset! We love and feel included by many humanities and science blogs!) is the way that they separate people into the good guys, which is whatever field they’re in, and the clueless folks (who may or may not “mean well” but just could not possibly understand), which is people who are in fields that they’re not in. As social scientists we don’t fit in either group! But that’s ok, it just means more time for us since we don’t visit those blogs often and if we do leave a pithy comment we don’t tend to return to see what the result was. I imagine the blog owners in question are just as happy not to have to deal with our obnoxious ignorance.

      • Cloud Says:

        Yes, I know what you mean. I think I need to cut myself off from Historiann. I often enjoy her posts, but I too often get drawn into the comments, and that’s a time sink that just leaves me grumpy.

        The blog post I really want to write from that whole debacle is about surviving sexism and not ending up letting it make you miserable. I may or may not get to it.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I tend to agree with CPP that the whole dancing on a dead person’s grave thing is distasteful.

  2. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    “We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance”

    GOLD STAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Rumpus Says:

    I like the music. And in the sequel they go to space.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.