link love

Jlcollinsnh explains why your house is a terrible investment.

Eco cat lady with a post on the ethics of food choices.

Ferule and Fescue explains how teaching math and teaching reading are different things.

Big think with popularity of names by geography.

The language log brings us The Penultimate Penn Ultimate Ultimate Penn Pen

The little professor makes us crack up yet again.

binary this:  mmmm david bowie,  also internet cat privilege

Academic readers, mommy/prof needs advice for what to write for her colleague’s tenure case in terms of their coauthoring.

In case you’re wondering what all that SFWA drama Scalzi was talking about is, we looked it up for ya.  Here’s ecatherine’s take.  Eerily reminiscent of the Womanspace drama last year.  I can’t believe Nature doubled down on that.  Ugh.  Update:  Apparently Mike Resnick is Ed Rybicki’s long lost twin, complete with leaving comments on blogs complaining about being criticized.  He must have such a teeny tiny penis.  Update:  This one by geeking out about on how the editor screwed up is good too.

Harvard Business Review explains why men work so many hours.

“I do whatever I damn please. Whenever I damn please. IF ever I damn please!” –my grandmother at 96

6 Responses to “link love”

  1. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Excellent links today! That shitte going on with those two f*cken douchebagges at SFWA is f*cken ridiculous. It’s like they went to sleep in 1955 and woke up this morning.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I know, right? I looked in my bookcases and found that I own one book edited by Mike Resnick– called “Dinosaur Fantastic.” Seems apt.

      At least it looks like the SFWA is going to admit wrongdoing eventually (they’ve set up a “task-force”), unlike Nature.

  2. Rumpus Says:

    Woah, that is a cool article about working longer hours. I especially like the gender vs education pie charts.
    About half of my friends from grad school are work-less-work-smarter and about half seem to be just-work-more.
    Actually, now that I think about it, I think most of my friends split equally on that issue.

    But all of my academic colleagues are firmly on the just-work-more side…though the ones that have tenure don’t always work on their actual “work”.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      A lot of my colleagues work from home, so I have no idea how many hours they’re putting in. The junior colleagues do work more, I think. And I think I did when I was junior too (putting in a full day on Saturday or Sunday, for example). And I think that’s mostly because the teaching start-up costs are a different kind of skill than the research, so they both needed more time and I was able to spend time on teaching after being burned out on research. But who knows, my memory could be faulty.

  3. Revanche Says:

    I like your grandma’s attitude.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.