In which #1 tries to cajole #2 into blogging about her move

#1: We don’t have much in the blog queue. A bunch of ask the grumpies though, so we’re set on Fridays for a few weeks. I put a book review on Monday, but there are many other Mondays ahead if you feel like doing something monetary.
#2: I dunno bout money.
#1: Well, anything to do with the move and career is money, because career is money. And quality of life can be money.
#2: Hm. I’ll think about it.
#1: I bet our readers want to know what’s up with you, even things you find boring.
#2: We don’t really know what we’re doing right now anyway
#1: you can post about that
#2: sometimes we have a serious talk, and then sex.
#1: I don’t think they need to hear about the sex
#2: (sometimes we have sex without the talk beforehand, too)
#1: it would be sad if you only had sex after serious talks. I’d be like, let’s talk about global warming.
#2: I’ll warm your globes, baby!

Also…

#2 would like to espouse the opinion that moving is the MOST TEDIOUS of all things and it even bores ME, and I’m the one doing it.  Oof!

What do you all want to know about #2’s current situation given that she’s quit her job, recovered from pneumonia, and is in the process of scheduling a move, finding a new job, and reinventing herself?  (Note that talking about the logistics of moving makes her seriously grumpy– speaking from experience.)  Please keep it PG-rated.

24 Responses to “In which #1 tries to cajole #2 into blogging about her move”

  1. xykademiqz Says:

    I have a question that has been driving me crazy. I know one of you is a married with kids, and I think she is the economist. I know the other one is happily partnered and kidless and I believe she is moving, and is in a humanities (but could be a social science field too, not sure); I remember the book vs article publishing posts and believe it was her. I usually think you are 2 and 1, respectively, but then comes a post like this one where when I get confused and it seems I got my numbers wrong (2 is moving and not 1). Do you guys use 1 and 2 consistently or just “1 for me, 2 for the other”?

    Also, I might just be really dense. Sorry! And thanks!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Some of what you say is right and some of what you say is wrong and we are purposefully not correcting you.

      #1 is the person who starts the post. It is relative, not stationary.

      • xykademiqz Says:

        #1 is the person who starts the post. It is relative, not stationary.

        ‘Tis all I needed to know. Thanks. So I am not insane and the designation does change.

        Good luck to the one moving!!!

  2. hollyatclubthrifty Says:

    I think you should talk about all of it…especially the sex. Don’t hold back. We need some excitement in the blogosphere.

  3. Debbie M Says:

    I think it is wrong of you to make global warming sound like a good thing.

    But to answer your questions, one of these might be fun to write about:
    * What are some of the weirdest things you have brainstormed for your next step in jobland?
    * What are you going to miss about the old situation (not much, but surely something) and how will you try to make up for that loss?
    * What are you looking forward to in your new location?
    * What kind of housing are you doing this time and why? What mistakes are you trying not to repeat (or make for the first time)?
    * Do you prefer to live in the country, the city, a suburb, or something else I’m not thinking of and why? And does that change when you have to have jobs?
    * Which kinds of financial institutions will you be able to keep using, and which are you going to have to switch?
    * Which things cost more and which cost less in your new location? Were any of these a big surprise?

  4. Linda Says:

    Maybe moving is only boring and tedious when it doesn’t involve selling your house!

    That’s a lot of change to deal with. Maybe #2 could write about what criteria she’s looking for in a new place to live?

  5. Rented life Says:

    Moving is a pain in the butt! We moved many times in the last few years and parents want us to move even closer. I do not want to move. (And an hour is close enough). Reward yourself after you pack. Maybe pack five boxes, then have sex?

  6. Sandyl FirstgenAmerican Says:

    So are you moving to your desired location, then job hunting there? I guess I am curious and confused why you are moving. I know you hate your location but doesn’t the next job dictate a little bit where you move to…unless partner’s job is location independent…or are you just going to shove everything in storage and go cross country in your car.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      You mean besides her current location actively trying to kill her? Seriously, it’s like some demented Steven King or Cthulhu novel.

      I can answer part of this briefly on her behalf: She’s applied for a lot of jobs in cities but it’s likely that she’s going to have more luck getting jobs if she has an address that’s actually *in* the area instead of in BFE nowhere. That was definitely true before she got this TT job– she got offers for non-TT positions *after* she moved and was able to start looking/networking in person. There’s more than just that for reasons, but that’s a big one. Employers don’t seem to be willing to take a risk on someone over-qualified unless there’s actual evidence that they will take the job.

  7. Chelsea Says:

    What would you say were the warning signs that your job/residence was going to be toxic that you either didn’t realize at the time or that you ignored?

  8. Donna Freedman Says:

    It would be a great service to others facing a move if you wrote about Things That Are Worth It when it comes to moving (e.g., sometimes paying the extra to have them do ALL the packing).
    Also some nice-to-know stuff about the process, for those who’ve never done it. This includes “how to make things easier on yourself” stuff like ordering food in or hiring a parents’ helper to ride herd on small fry while you organize/pack/whatever.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.