Saturday morning link love

Link love is a bit late because last night after work I picked up the book I was reading, Stiletto, and didn’t finish until well past my bedtime.  If you haven’t read the first book in that series, The Rook, read that first.

Ok, now let’s see what kinds of activism, horror, and cute kitteny things #2 and I have collected this week…

Celeste P has some great suggestions about how and where you can help in the upcoming Senate elections.  If you’ve got money, there’s places to give it.  If you’ve got time, there’s suggestions where to spend it.  If you have a Platform, there’s suggestions on how to use it.  Let’s ALL start talking about what everyone can do.  The Blue Wave isn’t going to happen unless we make it happen, and it is vulnerable, very vulnerable.  We need to make it a tsunami in order to swamp the effects of gerrymandering, voter suppression, “lost” votes, hacked electronic voting, and so on.

If you have travel miles, you can donate them to help reunite separated families.

ICE crashed a van full of separated mothers, then denied it ever happened.

This article on the new version of Queer Eye says some really thought provoking stuff about gender roles and also has a bit about minority acceptance.  (H/T agaishanlife)

Looking for some short entertaining informative videos?  We found Matt Baume this week.  His culture cruise videos are fascinating, especially for generation Xers— I never knew that most of my core feelings about gay marriage and safe sex were taken from Golden Girls and Designing Women (h/t my mom for being hooked on those shows enough to let me watch them even as a little kid!).  The other popular videos are great too.  Learn some history and think about how media affected and continues to affect culture.

The conference childcare conundrum.

A lot of people who have never encountered a Trump supporter IRL talk about how we need to be nice to them so we can convince them to somehow become good people.  Delagar explains how that goes down.

The McMansion Hell lady discusses Betsy DeVos’s monstrous summer home.

Russian trolls on twitter are identity fishing, and we don’t know why.

Why Becca picked the wrong guy.  Personally, I think it’s just that she has terrible taste in men.  (See:  Arie.)

Why banning Muslim veils backfires and why countries keep doing it anyway

Miser Mom discusses the need to reduce and reuse.

Dr. Jen Gunter discusses where the science is on menopause treatments

Need help with your syllabus dates?

College level math with exotic cats

Dame Eleanor discusses stuff in this poignant post.

I totally get this movie, especially the mouseover.

Drunk Austen sorts Jane Austen characters into Harry Potter houses.

I wonder if we should do this to our shower

Eating down food at home (and decluttering the pantry) is in!  We recently did the Frugal Girl’s freezer challenge so I can fit more TJ’s meals into the freezer for the start of the school year…

This looks delicious

Curiosity got Fontina

7 Responses to “Saturday morning link love”

  1. nicoleandmaggie Says:

  2. Jenny F. Scientist Says:

    That Prince tapdance video is incredible. I would fall over my own feet and die. It’s always amazing to see really, really good dancers.

    (The rest of the news is, as usual, very depressing.)

  3. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I accidentally used up most of our freezer stash recently and I’m a bit pleased that we’ve done that. I always vaguely feel like we’re doing it wrong when it’s been months since we last saw the bottom of the freezer.

  4. Leah Says:

    I’ve never painted a shower enclosure, but I have spray painted brass lamps. I think it’s worth it. Depends on if you’re willing to put in the time. I still get satisfaction from looking at the lamp I repainted 5 or 6 years ago.

  5. Debbie M Says:

    It’s one thing to get new data, but to keep interpreting old data in different ways (the WHI data on post-menopausal treatments) is kind of infuriating.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.