Ask the grumpies: Small purchases that make you happy?

Steph asks:

What seemingly small recent purchase (less than $25) has made you really happy? (Stolen from Rachel Syme on twitter, I think; max price is adjustable.)

My most recent things have been from jetpens.  Here’s a post on that.  I really love the Clena and the Midori to-do list pad with the kitties, especially in conjunction with the two sided sticky tape.  Looking through my recent jetpens purchases… I got a Meeting Book for one of the big committees I’m in charge of and so far I’ve liked it.  That’s hopefully over for the semester, but will start up again in March.  I like my 2024 Leuchtturm weekly planner already.  I got myself a cute Pilot Dr. Grip G-Spec.

I also like the Winter scent at Bath and Body Works, and I’m hoping they have it in a hand sanitizer again this year (as of this writing they don’t, only soap and things that make my nose drip, like candles).

I’m looking through my recent amazon purchase history but, other than ebooks, it’s mostly things for other people.  (Does buying winter clothing for cold Carleton students make me happy?  I don’t know, I don’t think I do charity because it makes me happy so much as it stops some pain that is created by people telling me about problems.)  DC2 liked the 6 inch clear ruler.  DH likes the Beechmore ruled notebook that was only a little over $25.  Baby gifts off a registry.  Multi-cable for DC1.  A three pack of salsa as a thank you gift.  I guess I’m doing a decent job of not buying random stuff from amazon if I can get it locally.  (Just not, you know, ebooks.)

Related posts:

Little things that just work

Stuff we’ve enjoyed

Fixing little annoyances

Grumpy Nation:  What recent small purchases have made you happy?

20 Responses to “Ask the grumpies: Small purchases that make you happy?”

  1. omdg Says:

    Inexpensive things that bring me happiness:
    – Books
    – McDonalds french fries
    – Caramel macchiato
    – Anything little that makes my daughter happy that is not an app or app money

  2. middle_class Says:

    I think under $25 is fairly easy. I just got favorite planner for $8 (normally $15). It’s the simple elephant one and only dark blue was discounted this much!

    Also love my gel pens, which I think are under $25 for the refills.

  3. Lisa Says:

    I love my French Press and Crio Bru cacao. Trader Joe’s chocolate passport. I bought some cheap sunglasses (recommended by the Wirecutter) that I have enjoyed. Pens for sure! notebooks (of any kind from anywhere, really).

  4. CG Says:

    Good pens (although not the connoisseur you are), good tea and nice mugs, good merino wool socks for exercising.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’m a pretty recent connoisseur…

      I was thinking this morning that I need to do a post on how with age has come an appreciation for things like nice socks and bath salts that I didn’t understand when I was younger.

      • CG Says:

        I was laughing at myself when I was writing the comment because I could think of several things I’ve bought myself recently more in the $100-200 range that I’ve enjoyed very much. I am apparently getting too fancy.

    • undine Says:

      Good pens and also cheap pens (Platinum Preppy), so–pens. And bottled ink.

  5. delagar Says:

    I bought these new laundry sheets — laundry detergent that comes in sheets in a paper box. The huge plastic tubs kept depressing me, since it was SO much plastic waste. Also, these sheets get the clothes cleaner, so win/win.

    These guys: https://sheetslaundryclub.com/product/laundry-detergent-sheets-fresh-linen?variant=44536940265772&oneTime=true&gad=1&gclid=Cj0KCQjwtJKqBhCaARIsAN_yS_ksx3IUGRqP-nBbnnZWSx4PW3fiO7V8SJ_jQPbeVeggsf6RpQCW2zAaAr8gEALw_wcB

    I get the unscented.

  6. First Gen American Says:

    Peeps eyeglass lens cleaner. Everyone with glasses is getting one for Xmas. $20

    superfeet insoles. $20. Totally fixed my kid’s foot pain issues during soccer season and I also use the blue ones for my flat feet. They have all different ones depending on your arch.

    Pre-cut parchment paper that fits my 1/2 sheet pans. 200 for $16.

  7. Socal Dendrite Says:

    Fancy cheese. But then I am sad when it is gone so I don’t know if that counts? The blue tub I got from ALDI for a few bucks that I use all the time when I’m gardening. In a similar vein, the free coffee grounds I pick up from Starbucks that make my compost smell delicious. Blu tack.

  8. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    Hm, I can’t tell if my Patreon subscription to Pikaole counts. It’s about $8 monthly and twice a year I get a lot of stickers and postcards. I like them a lot but I think that’s over the limit.

    Honey roasted peanuts. A new sheet of stamps (Tomie daPaola!), love them. Books. Pens.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.