Some advice for dealing with crazy administrators who are nuts and also don’t do their job

I’m not always good at this, so it’s more of a do what I say, not what I do kind of thing.  But when I do step back and plan ahead and do this, it works pretty well.  Mostly though I don’t have the patience.

Sometimes you have admin who are nutso.  They have weird petty power problems.  Or they’re just lazy and don’t want to do their actual jobs.  (This is different from being incompetent– I have no solution for incompetent administrators.)  This is true for all levels of admin from an administrative assistant 1 to a provost.  Possibly even a president!  (Though provost is the highest level I’ve had to deal with.)

You can’t let them get to you.  You can’t take it personally.

Keep your goal in mind– what is it that you need to get done?  Forget that the admin is a person– as soon as they show that they’re crazy and obstructionist, they’re not really a person.  They’re a cog, or a pawn.  You have to figure out their puzzle to get what it is you want.  Yes, you shouldn’t have to, and you can definitely be angry about that, but don’t let your anger prevent you from getting the thing you need.

First off, is there someone else who can do the thing you need? Yes this is not fair to the other person if it isn’t their actual job, but if the other person who can do it is this person’s boss, then it is kind of fair.

Even if the boss can’t do it, sometimes you need to show a little dominance yourself by ccing their boss in your next email.  Always be polite.  No need to point out that you’ve cc’d the boss.  But as you ask for an update on X or who can help you with X, etc. it sometimes works to have the boss included in the middle of that conversation.  Ignored emails sometimes magically get answered once the right person is cc’d.

Many things that don’t work in email do work if you get the person on the phone or go over to their office in person.  Even if you can’t stand the person, going in and being polite and asking if they can help you (adding a little small talk, admiring something of theirs or asking about kids etc. etc. etc.) will sometimes bring a cranky jerk over to your side.  Yes, I understand that this seems distasteful on one hand or underhanded if you’re just doing it in order to get the person to do their job… but if you can sort of convince yourself that there was some kind of misunderstanding or your emails keep getting lost and if you can just explain in person it will work out (even if in your heart of hearts you know that’s not actually true), sometimes you can superficially get that person to believe that too and you get your thing done.

Sometimes you have to get the horrible person to feel like they can save face.  Assume an important email went to spam (even if you’re pretty sure it didn’t).  You know they’re busy (even if you doubt they are).  Suggest a miscommunication– something wasn’t clear, but it is now.  And so on.

Sometimes you have to provide direct evidence that it was the horrible person’s screw-up and not yours.  Whenever someone is being a bitch about a mistake they made, sometimes you need to politely but firmly point out that uh no, this was actually their fault, not yours.  Most recently for me, this was in the form of forwarding an email to an administrator (not in my department) with the list of people she sent me to invite to an event after she complained (cc’ing her boss) that I had missed someone.  I was like, here’s what you sent me.  (I didn’t cc her boss, because I figured letting her save face was more important than some other department head thinking well of me, but I definitely would have cc’d if it had been my boss.)  She then forgot to ask the same missing faculty member about her lunch order, but fortunately she had asked her boss for a lunch order even though he wasn’t attending the event so I was able to give the faculty member her boss’s order.

Experienced grumpeteers:  How do you handle difficult people at work? 

12 Responses to “Some advice for dealing with crazy administrators who are nuts and also don’t do their job”

  1. debomill Says:

    ‘You have to figure out their puzzle to get what it is you want. Yes, you shouldn’t have to, and you can definitely be angry about that, but don’t let your anger prevent you from getting the thing you need.’ – I have a philosophy about this: there are some things that you shouldn’t *have* to do but that you *can* do. I try to be a person who focuses more on what I can do than on what I shouldn’t have to do, but it’s super annoying.

    I love all the strategies you’ve thought up. The only one I’ve tried is visiting in person when no amount of e-mailing or calling is working. In my case, it involved a walk across campus (20+ minutes) in the heat (which actually I didn’t mind–I have a hat and bring water and love to get paid for walking), which made them feel guilty enough to do the thing.

    I’ve had a boss who definitely used the e-mail proof thing, where he’d often say things like, “as I requested in the attached e-mail of three weeks ago” or whatever.

    Mostly I feel clueless about how to make people do their jobs, make people stop interfering with other people’s jobs, make them stop doing things wrong if just showing them a better way doesn’t work, and letting them save face. (My boyfriend once worked in a Japanese company and it seemed impossible to get any improvements made to anything because admitting they were improvements was an insult to the person who had the original idea. As if people need to be perfect. In all ways. On their first draft. Ugh!)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I think in that last thing, it’s like, yes this was perfect when it was made, but now we have NEW X that didn’t exist then, or times have changed and people want Y now. So we need something slightly different, building on the previous perfection. Not because the thing wasn’t perfect to begin with, it was, but because other things have changed and this is what they would have done if they’d had X or people wanted Y at the time.

      • debomill Says:

        Nice! (Even when that’s not true because people always want things to be user-friendly and the recommended strategies are old, you could still probably do a good spin.)

  2. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I am generally quite bad at this but in specific circumstances, I’ve been able to make it work. I used to work with an HR manager that I’d have to finesse the hell out of. I had to pretend to be a gossipy, petty (well, that part wasn’t pretend but I usually don’t show that part at work), buddy buddy type person with them “and only them” so that they’d move my paperwork along without sitting on it for weeks.

    I also had to “build a relationship” with some of the software dudes by dropping by their cubes and letting them vent to me about stuff. I notice my tickets were always taken care of sooner than others. I mean, it wasn’t a relationship because it wasn’t reciprocal, but it’s what they needed to feel seen and therefore appreciated so maybe that one was less manipulative. But it still was.

    On the personal side, I had to do that with my biodad to get him to give up things that were not in his best interest to give up by pretending that he was being my savior. Since he liked looking that way as much as he liked stealing money from me, I got away with it and that’s the only way I was able to disentangle from him financially.

  3. omdg Says:

    Honestly, a lot of these are good tips even if the administrator isn’t lazy or crazy. It’s sooooo much more effective to get someone to do something for you if you make an appointment with them and just sit with them until the task is done. Merely threatening that course of action was effective for me recently — I phrased it as, “If I am unable to complete the documentation (that is actually their job) correctly this time, perhaps we should set up a time to go through it together” — all of a sudden they were able to complete it for me lol.

    And while I agree that pretending to care about someone can suffice in the absence of actual caring, sometimes you discover you actually like the person and they aren’t so terrible if you put in a little effort.

    Now, if you can teach me how to manage administrators who are my *boss* who don’t do what they say agree to do for me in meetings and are averse to hearing constructive complaints — to the extent that they will try to fire you if you complain… that would be truly helpful!

  4. Matthew D Healy Says:

    One of my grad school Professors happened to be the heir to a large fortune and probably gave more to the University in various ways over the years than they paid him. As a major donor he thus got a level of respect from the administration that other faculty did not. He quite rightly found it deplorable that administrators treated him differently just because he happened to have money, and was careful not to abuse the power that came from having money. His respect from colleagues was earned, and he was very helpful to grad students. A true leader in the field who ALWAYS had time when I needed to talk about something.

    But maybe once a year when the department was running into particularly egregious obstruction from the administration, he would quietly remind them that he was a major donor, and their attitude would change.

  5. First Gen American Says:

    This is probably not true in the uni setting but I’m the private sector, Jon’s keep getting eliminated, so it does take a lot longer to get stuff done than it used to. For example, our marketing communications team used to be 12 people, and eventually got widdled down to 1. She was awesome but in no way could she do the work of 12. She got burned out and retired. In those cases, it’s good to acknowledge the change in staffing and show appreciation that they still could get a task done and be grateful.

    If something is urgent, I also use the above tip of scheduling time with ppl.

    I do bake cookies for the teams that help me the most. Just mailed them this week. Almost no one does little gifts anymore. It used to be more common. I do it because I like to bake and spread Xmas cheer, not because I want to buy someone…but it helps. It’s no trust fund contribution but has helped differentiate me from the pack.

    Some people only respond to the stick and not a carrot so you do have to know the person a bit and adjust accordingly. That’s when calling them out on their lateness, copying their boss, etc can be appropriate. A great manager once told me in my first year out of school that if someone wasn’t listening to me, I used my same communication method more forcefully. The trick was, to adjust my style to what they needed. Don’t email if people prefer to talk. It’s not uncommon for some people to get 100 emails a day. If you ask someone what their preferred communication method is, they’ll tell you. I’ve had multiple people say, if it’s urgent, call me because email gets buried.

    Good topic and something I run into daily. I rely on so many others to get my job done so any and all tips are welcome.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.