RBOFood

  • Went through the pantry and took out everything that had expired in 2023 and put it on the kitchen island.  The kitchen island is pretty crowded, including graham crackers that I swear we bought a few months ago.  No wonder they were on sale.
  • I overbuy because of money insecurity problems growing up and I like having a full pantry.
  • Last night I dreamed that a huge number of people came over and I had to feed them from what we had on hand, and I was able to!  And thinking on it, it was with food we actually have on hand IRL.
  • I think we have a couple of weeks where we’re just going to eat expired pantry food (plus whatever it takes to turn said food into meals– ex. NOT-expired pasta/rice/chicken/mixed veggies).
  • I often forget we have pantry sauces and tend to go to the freezer first when we need a quick weeknight meal that we didn’t buy the ingredients for that week.
  • I don’t have a problem with expired pantry food– it’s always been still good and everything online says that it’s the “best buy” date, not the “dangerous to eat” date.  Generally it’s still fine, though the store-brand fizzy water in the large containers does go flat if we don’t drink it soon enough.  (Other fizzy water– still fizzy!)  I’m much more cautious about refrigerator food.  But I try to rotate it out– there’s no point in it taking up space for years at a time.
  • Sometimes we get stuff we don’t want or can’t eat (red dye, yeast extract, etc.) and I try to donate those before they go bad.  But I don’t always succeed.  That makes me feel guilty.  I really should just leave stuff for students to take (and did that with a flat of premium cat food that our cat didn’t like), but I don’t want to do that after said food has expired.
  • DH is still calorie counting, DC1 is off to college, and DC2 is between growth spurts.  So we’re just not eating much.  It is really hard to adjust to DC1 being gone, especially when nobody else is taking up the slack.  I need to get used to either planning fewer meals or making less at each meal.  Or going back to using the freezer, but lately the freezer has been stuffed so we would need to eat it down first.
  • At the same time, we’re trying to eat more fruits and vegetables.  This is difficult because fruits and vegetables go bad or take up freezer space!  #richpeopleproblems

How do you deal with expired food?  Do you stockpile?  What kinds of things do you do during the new year?

15 Responses to “RBOFood”

  1. CG Says:

    We had a two-day power outage a couple of weeks ago. Luckily it was cold enough to put our fridge/freezer stuff outside but it reminded me that I should be better about using up frozen meat more quickly–i.e., not leaving it in there for months and not accumulating a freezer full of random stuff. I go through the pantry periodically and try to make things using what we have in there, like making soup out of random cans of beans. Or I’ll cook the 6 oz of pasta left in the box and the kids will eat it with butter and cheese. It is definitely time for a pantry draw-down around here. Thanks for the reminder! Also I should probably start calorie counting again. Boo. It turns out that “calorie counting in my head” only works if there are no cookies around and it’s summer so I’m playing lots of extra sports.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Having cookies around also means I eat cookies. Which wouldn’t be a problem if I didn’t feel crappy after eating refined carbs. (DC2 has high trigylcerides so isn’t supposed to be eating sweets either… and yet we still have sweets because DC1 isn’t here to eat them after DH or DC2 makes them and DH is calorie counting and can only eat so much. DC2 has started taking boxes of cookies to school with hir or giving them to hir friend in our neighborhood who has tons of siblings.)

      Glad you didn’t lose anything in the power outage! Two days is a long time!!

  2. EB Says:

    Totally ignore the “best by” dates, and mostly ignore “use by” for stuff in the fridge. If you sniff it, you’ll pretty much know if it has gone bad. But I recently got rid of some boxed things (kasha, flour, etc) that was from 2014. Not out of safety concerns, but because it had gotten very stale and clumpy.

  3. delagar Says:

    Since the kid has gone off to live on his own, we hardly ever eat either. Dr. Skull is in a food cult, and only eats like three things, and I keep forgetting about meals.

  4. Steph Says:

    I am not good about eating through my pantry and freezer. Certain things I eat through pretty quickly and always like to have on hand, but I need to be more picky about just-in-case or ooh-a-sale purchases. Sometimes I stock up on something I think I like, and then it ceases to be appetizing anymore, IDK why. Having recently moved back into a real apartment after 6+ months of staying with friends + short-term room rental, I’m basically starting from scratch and trying to be more thoughtful about what I purchase. It helps that my new kitchen is small and has limited cabinet space – it will be harder to build up a very big stash.

    I try to keep 1-2 weeks of shelf-stable food on hand during the winter. Nominally it’s in case of weather but the more common use is because things are hectic at work and I need to throw something together. The path of least resistance is just peanut butter sandwiches, and my body prefers it when I don’t subsist on solely that meal. The challenge is finding good and inexpensive shelf-stable meals that I will actually eat when it’s not an emergency.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah– for me it’s very hard when it’s just me and not anybody else. When I was younger I tended to live on cereal or baked potatoes (or crackers and peanut butter…), which isn’t very healthy. Now adays when I’m on my own I just eat leftovers in weird combinations or I’ll make a big pot of spaghetti and eat it for the week, but these days I’m only on my own for short stints, so it’s not the same.

  5. debomill Says:

    With food, I try to make a list of things I have (on a white board on the side of the fridge) so that a) when I get hungry I don’t forget about real food that I have and b) so I don’t forget about interesting things I bought but don’t necessarily have a plan for. And I try to make plans for things, like whenever I end up with ketchup packets despite my best efforts, it’s time to buy frozen fish (actually frozen fake fish–even my boyfriend likes gardein f’sh filets), the only thing I like to eat ketchup with.

    Things still get clogged up and then I have to back up and do some thinking about what I’m not eating and why. Mostly I find ways to cook things. Sometimes I realize I’m not going to eat something–if it’s expired I toss it, otherwise I bring it to our local little free pantry.

    In the new year I start a new version of things I’m keeping track of electronically–financial spreadsheet, journal, annual to-do list, book reviews, and election information.

  6. rose Says:

    Watch the salt content of ketchup but make a pot of dry beans from scratch and use the grad break room ketchup and spices, and onion &garlic, canned pumpkin, canned tomatoes and make a big pot of meat free chili to hard boil and stir….. Feed the hungry. grad students………

  7. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I’ve been trying to eat down the freezer and started digging around in the pantry to try and eat through the first year of pandemic supplies. Did just have to toss some proteins that have been frozen since 2020. I felt terrible but it is way past the point of good. I forget that things can’t live in the freezer for more than five years and still be good, sometimes….!

  8. First Gen American Says:

    I either put the purchase date or expiration date on my pantry items in sharpie before I put something away. That way I can more easily see what’s been around awhile. No need to do it on high turnover items but it’s helpful for everything else.

    Current oldies in my pantry are cans of coconut milk.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      DH tends to use coconut milk in coffee when we need to use it up. I would have to find something to make with it if he didn’t do that. (Soup or a dessert thing probably.)

      • Allyson Says:

        I made the rice pudding recipe from the Instant Pot Fast and Easy cookbook (thanks for the recommendation!), but used regular jasmine rice instead of the Thai sticky black rice the recipe called for. Worked well. That needs a can of coconut milk.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.