link love spink love

In case you were wondering, wikipedia tells me that Spink is another name for Chaffinch.

Lotsa links this week!

Gawker mansplains to mansplainers why women don’t like it when you tell them they’re hot in professional settings.

Delagar with a pic of the cutest new member of the delagar family.  Squee!

How David Carr doesn’t mean to be sexist, but, like many folks, he is.

NIHCM explains health entitlement spending in six charts.

Are you, like me, continually checking xkcd: 1190?  Here’s an automagically updated video version.

Academic cog contemplates Dr. Seuss’s hats of creativity.  I used to have a thinking cap.  I wonder whatever happened to it…

Not of general interest and the chronicle of higher education ask who gives up tenure?  Pretty happy people, apparently.

We wanted to link to MutantSupermodel’s pictures of bookshelves… but just LOOK at what her ex sent one of the kids home in.  I mean, wha?

Single mom rich mom talks about being a scanner.

Tressiemc notes that the advice to not go to graduate school may not be the best advice for underrepresented minorities.  Part of this advice I’ve thought about in terms of associates and bachelors degrees with DH’s (low SES but not minority) relatives… earning a little over minimum wage doing commercial art wouldn’t be that bad compared to earning minimum wage at the dollar store, so the advice not to be an artist doesn’t necessarily make sense in that context.  Additionally, getting a bachelors degree is important when there aren’t a whole lot of jobs in your town and there’s a ton of competition for the ones that don’t require degrees… whether or not you want to get the heck out of dodge.  Additionally her analysis also applies to gender– part of the reason that women earn more education is precisely because their options without them are not as good as men’s options, even though the degree doesn’t add as much to a woman’s salary as it does to a man’s (though for white women, you can still do fairly well with just a bachelors compared to the opportunities for minorities).  Anyhow, a very neat article and illustrates the importance of breaking apart treatment effects by groups (something I covered in class on Wednesday!)– even if those still only give the average for each group and individuals may vary.

buzzfeed with 31 reasons why the job search sucks.

The oatmeal with the mantis shrimp.  DEATH SHRIMP.

Turns out coursera does have an underwater basketweaving course… (avoid the death shrimp though…)

This song from mashable is EPIC.  Where is Prince Ali?

No time for flashcards suggests positive princess books for kids.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.  (Though, as a note, Nicole and Maggie do not share a budget… the post in question is just about #1 and her husband.  #2’s partner has a real job!)

15 Responses to “link love spink love”

  1. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    (small brag this morning: DC2 is walking all by hirself!)

  2. Jacq Says:

    Yay on walking!
    You have no kitteh links – so here’s one for Henri the Existential Cat:

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    That mantis shrimp motherf*cker is a motherf*cken BADDEASSE!!!!!!!!

  4. femmefrugality Says:

    Love the positive princess books. And underwater basketweaving? I can’t get it to come up when I click through. Probably just as well. I’d totally take it and I have more practical things I SHOULD be learning…

  5. becca Says:

    1) Greatly appreciate the xkcd link, as did several of my twitter peeps!
    2) Tressiemc is all kinds of awesome. I could kick myself for not thinking of these debates in those terms before, despite very much *experiencing* grad school angst as a question of “what are my other options”.
    3) I need a viking helmet, but I would not use it for job applications, as I could not shake the notion that VIKINGS NEVER WORE HELMETS LIKE THAT, and that, thus, it would be conditioning me for impostor syndrome
    4) the cats are right. LOLSOB. So. Right.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Economists think about “opportunity cost” and graduate school, but for us, the opportunity cost of graduate school is pretty darn high. That’s probably also part of the reason that our programs are shorter than many other PhD programs.

  6. MutantSupermodel Says:

    1) I love the hats thing! How fascinating!
    2) LMAO at mantis shrimp. I knew about the colors but no clue about the violence. Genghis Khan bathed in sherbet ice cream indeed.
    3) Going to add some of those princess books to Daughter’s list. She has a version of the Princess and the Pea that I love to read to her
    4) The don’t go to graduate school piece is incredible. I have always felt it’s not great blanket advice but couldn’t put my finger on exactly what it was that’s wrong with it.
    5) Squee! Kitten!
    6) I can’t wait for the alert to come in that Lean In is waiting for me at the library
    7) I love that Mansplainer column. I feel like lately I have seen a lot of pieces on sexism that break it down so it’s really easy to grasp what exactly is going on. This is what I’m talking about.
    8) Thanks for the link love. I’m still “laughing” about the fiasco.

  7. Liz Says:

    Irrelevant, but did RMSM’s site disappear? I had to use the Wayback Machine to find the scanner link: http://web.archive.org/web/20130502011937/http://singlemomrichmom.com/on-being-re-tired-and-a-bit-of-a-scanner/


Leave a Reply

