Are we famous on the internet yet?

It’s our one year blogiversary!

A year ago we started this blog.  A little less than a year ago we wondered what our blog should be.  We seem to have settled down into some patterns.  At least once a week we’re a personal finance blog (usually Mondays).  About once a week we’re an academic blog.  A little under once a week we’re a mama blog.  Occasionally we hit feminist… or foodie… or bibliophile (or mix those topics with the rest).  The rest of the time we are random, silly, grumbly, or joyous.

Hey– #2, are you still having fun?  I’m still having fun.  It’s been neat meeting people.  (What would we do without our readers and commenters?)  I’ve learned a lot!  #2 is totes having fun.  The secret, peeps, is to start a blog with your friend, and then you can bounce off each other.  Also– you’re not responsible for getting 100% of the posts up and comments accepted/spam filtered.

Here are just a few of our favorite posts:

Octopus is the New Black

I will not marry my best friend

Blue Children

Housing the Academic

Dream Vacation

Pre-tenure Angst and a life-changing book recommendation

Satisficing as a life philosophy

Guilt in parenting: IBTP

Blogging Boice and Hacking work habits

Governments are not people

Cooking systems and Cooking when you’re really broke

The prepaying the mortgage question

How the used car market is like health insurance

Why are the stop feeling guilty and relax posts so popular?

Which are yours?  (Stroke our egos!  Read our archives!  Comment!  Say hi!)

40 Responses to “Are we famous on the internet yet?”

  1. Today My Blog is 1 First Gen American First Gen American.com Says:

    […] already been a year.  How did that happen?  Coincidentally one of my daily blog favorites Grumpy Rumblings has also turned one today too.  I know we started blogging about the same time, but I didn’t […]

  2. First Gen American Says:

    Wow. I’m 1 today too. I didn’t realize we started on the exact same day. Congrats. You’re famous in my mind for what that’s worth. It’s been a real pleasure reading your articles on a daily basis. I enjoyed your comments on SImple Dollar and GRS, when we were both rabid commenters, but the articles are even better.

  3. Money Beagle Says:

    Congrats, that’s a big milestone. Looks like you’ve come a long way. can’t wait to see where things go over the next year (and more)

  4. bogart Says:

    Oh dear, I have now read “blue children” and am deeply disturbed, a perturbation only marginally offset by my delight in the accuracy of this claim, “I can fix math phobia. Stupid takes a lot more effort than I have time for.”

    Congrats on the milestone but I think I’m going to go crawl under a rock. Stupid is as stupid does but will someone please think of the children? Apparently not. Argh!!!

    (Note: above is in no way intending to suggest holding you (Grumpies) responsible for blue children, it’s just bemoaning the fate of children whose parents do — really — dumb things)

  5. Aubergine Kenobi Says:

    Congratulations on the bloggiversary! I figure it’s a good date to come out of lurkedom :) I arrived here via Cloud’s blog, so I’ve been lurking for a while now.

    My favorite posts are satisficing (that’s my life phylosophy too!) and the one about parenting guilt. Another favorite is the one about grammatical pet peeves (specially the Alot!).

    I like that you mix your posts, to be brutally honest, if you only wrote about academia, I wouldn’t have been too interested.

  6. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Happy blogday to you, happy blogday to you! Happy blogday nicoleandmaggie, happy blogday to you!

  7. Suba Says:

    Congrats! I have to go through the archives to make sure I am not forgetting the favorites, but the blue children and prepaying the mortgage are def. in my favorites.

    Happy blogiversary or blogoversary or whatever blog birthday is :) !

  8. Cloud Says:

    Well, I found you via the (in)famous eye roll post, so its one of my favorites.

    I also really loved the crabs in a bucket post, and not just because it referenced me.

    I clearly need to go back and read more of your archives. The Satisfice and Used Car posts you linked to above are great. Actually, all of the posts you linked to above are great.

    Happy Blogiversary! Here’s to many happy returns….

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Ah yes, the eye roll post… that attracted a bit of a firestorm… I think we lost and gained readers with that one. On net, our subscribers and regular commenters went up, but we definitely lost a few folks.

  9. Linda Says:

    Congratulations! I can’t relate to all of your posts (academic life is foreign to me, as is parenting) but I love to read them anyway. I like the tone of your writing and the way you respond to comments (even disturbing/weird/dumb ones) with humor and a gentle correction. And when I say “you” and “your” above, of course I mean both of you!

  10. Lindy Mint Says:

    Happy blog birthday! I think they say if you can make it a whole year, then you can make it…I don’t know, somewhere. I don’t really know what they say. I just know it’s a great accomplishment!

  11. Spanish Prof Says:

    Don’t know what to say, but hello and happy birthday!

  12. Everyday Tips Says:

    Happy birthday Nicole and Maggie (or shall I say, Number 1 and Number 2?).

    I loved your post about Octopi. Those pictures were fantastic.

    I generally like the conversation that starts from your posts, regardless of the topic. You are guys are doing a great job!

  13. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    Your blogge is fucien great!

  14. FrauTech Says:

    Wow only a year! Anyways enjoy your posts and especially I think enjoy the community that brings with it. Still working on finding my own stride I guess after almost two years at my own place. But it’s nice to have places like this to read the conversations of other sometimes likeminded people with a wide range of interests.

  15. Rumpus Says:

    Congratulations! I like the posts that I replied to with comments that made me laugh out loud. The posts that I missed or for which my comments were not funny enough to make me laugh out loud were good too. As we move forward into this new year, I’m sure we’ll all grow in our abilities (to assist me in laughing out loud at myself…yep, that did it).

  16. Donna Freedman Says:

    Congratulations for hanging in there, and thank you for giving me something to read.
    (Thank you for all the links, too.)

  17. Sandy H Says:

    Congratulations on reaching your year blog anniversary! I hit mine in July too- but you are definitely more famous! I need to start taking notes (or posting more blogs) to even begin to achieve your notoriety!

    Continued success to you both and your blog!

  18. An Urban Planning Snafu + Links | Everyday Tips and Thoughts... Says:

    […] Grumpy Rumblings of the Untenured also had their first birthday this week. This blog is full of thought provoking conversation, so check it out if you haven’t already. […]

  19. Molly On Money Says:

    WHOOT! WHOOT! Congratulations! I like your posts because for the most part I canNOT gloss through them. I stop, read, absorbed (wonder what the hell you just said), refer to google for clarification, suddenly understand (PING!) and re-read it all over again…..Thanks ladies :)

  20. Link self-love « Grumpy rumblings of the half-tenured Says:

    […] we missed our two year bloggiversary… apparently that was last Saturday.  What were your favorite posts of ours this past […]


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.